Cookie Conundrum

I’m famished. But I need to get out of the house. It’s my only window of opportunity to get some errands out of the way!

I buckle up my 18-month-old in his car seat, and as soon as I’m all set to zoom, what do I see? A gigantic sugar cookie is lying carelessly and enticingly in the passenger seat. Clearly, it’s a sign from God, and thank God for small mercies!

Of course, the lone cookie was from the time many days ago when I had bought a bunch for something, I can’t even remember.Whatever! I start munching. It felt good. SINFULLY good!!

And here comes the downer. My son wants in too, and I don’t want to give in! For one, the cookie is MINE, and second, no cookies for my toddler!

So, I do, what only a responsible momma would. No, I don’t give up the cookie. I say, “It’s mama’s snack.” It’s not a lie at all. Of course, my son believes me. There’s no doubt, as I’m devouring it with the utmost joy! But he still wants some – “Cookie! want some.”

That’s when I resort to Plan-B. “It’s not a cookie (white lie?). It’s mama’s snack.” He gives me the ‘I wasn’t born yesterday look’, and by now also looks kinda confused – why can’t she share it with me? Isn’t that what she’s always telling me to do???

As a parent, we all have a special gift. The gift of reading our kids’ minds. And believe me when I say this: I really wished right now, I didn’t have this ‘gift’. So, what do I do? I literally gulp down the enormous cookie, in about a second, and start a loquacious and animated conversation about our Oh! so exciting trip to the grocery store.

He buys it all, forgets about the blessed cookie that was so skillfully denied to him, and both mama and baby happily stroll through the multiple aisles of produce and diary 🙂 I kid you not! Having a sugar high most definitely sweetens the mundane in a most delightful way!

 

Leave a Reply

